There are currently seven new primary school academy proposals; compulsory academisation; two new secondary Free Schools announced on site of Chaucer Technology College and in Thanet; academy takeovers of Community College Whitstable and the Charles Dickens School, Broadstairs. There has also been plans unveiled for mixed Sixth Form at Sevenoaks Annex; Hoo Peninsula to become first local area to become academies only, creating a squeeze on secondary school options.

Whilst there were no new academies opened in March, four new primary schools applied to become Converter Academies, Priory Fields and St Martin’s, both in Dover, along with Hoo St Werburgh and Walderslade in Medway. In addition, the following schools are all to become Sponsored Academies: St Nicholas CofE Primary, New Romney (Diocese of Canterbury) and Barming Primary, Maidstone (Allington Primary Schools Academy Trust); together with Cedar Primary School, Strood (Thinking Schools Academy Trust).